Standard Homeowner’s Insurance policies provide coverage for a variety of situations, including damage or theft, accidents, vandalism, and natural disasters. Different policies may protect you from different exposures, and this is why it is helpful to check your specific policy to understand your coverage fully. However, there are common coverages from natural disasters across many policies, such as:

  • Hail
  • Windstorm
  • Lightning
  • Fire
  • Volcanic eruption
  • Falling objects
  • Weight of snow, sleet, or ice

The natural disasters typically excluded from Homeowner’s Insurance policies are:

  • Flood
  • Earthquake
  • Mudslide
  • Landslide
  • Sinkhole

Standard Homeowner’s and Renter’s Insurance policies typically exclude coverage for earthquake and flood damage. However, both of these policies can be purchased separately. If you live in a high-risk area for earthquakes, you can purchase Earthquake Insurance for your home. Moreover, Flood Insurance can be purchased through both private insurers as well as the National Flood Insurance Program.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.